STEPHEN JOHNSON MODELS 2AA BOGIES part 2

After the axle bearings, and soldering the side frames, ends and bolster in place is next making sure that all is square and true. Fitting a wheel set does help and assembling on a small mirror helps. Then test run the bogies on a piece of track so that it’s all nice and flat making sure the wheel sets do not crab and stay straight. As I will not be using the compensation arrangement because none of my 4 wheel or bogey stock is compensated I will be removing the 10ba nut and bolt and soldering that side of the bolster to the side frame. As an extra precaution it is best to solder a fillet along the bend seams in the etches. That’s it for now, next the side frame detail and brake shoes. I will  get back to the J3 building after this little diversion.

DSCF2314

DSCF2315

DSCF2316

About BURROWA

Retired 69 year old model railway enthusiast.Likes, NSWGR LNER railways.Music, Mozart Beethoven, Elgar, Beatles, Rolling Stones,Miles Davis and many more.
This entry was posted in Trains & carriages. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to STEPHEN JOHNSON MODELS 2AA BOGIES part 2

  1. Hi Peter. How is the compensation arrangement intended to work? Once the four corners are pinned and soldered, I don’t see how the bolster has anywhere to go, anyway. I must be missing something.
    Cheers,
    Lindsay

  2. BURROWA says:

    Hi Lindsay.
    I understand that it is possible to compensate these bogies but as a rule I don’t use compensated bogies because I have always maintained that even given the fact I use hand built code 55 rail I find normal/rigid bogies always work ok on 4 wheel wagons and bogie goods & passenger stock. However each to his own.Good luck with your project. Regards Peter

Leave a Reply

